top of page

1.2.1 The Pavilion Project

The brief for the Intervention Pavilion project stated that we would design and build a pavilion that would celebrate the university's move to a new campus. We were to consider all aspects of design and construction and present our final work to the group.

I began by researching other small pavilions. I looked at the Burnham Pavilion by Zaha Hadid which was erected in 2009 as a temporary pavilion in Chicago. The design was very modern and simple which made me think it was a good place to start. I also considered my Grandmother's garden pavilion as it too has a very simple design but is slightly more traditional. I then started to brainstorm in a scrap book to attempt to inspire myself. The idea I thought had most promise was my ‘Gherkin’ inspired Spiral pavilion which I thought would be feasible to make yet very attractive to look at and interact with. My Final design drawn up I went into the more technical details of how it would be made and what materials we would use.

Our presentations were to be elevator style meaning we had a minute to sell our pavilion to the room. This is not exactly my style as when presenting I would much prefer to take my time and ensure I have covered everything but I was generally pleased with it. I believe my pavilion wasn’t chosen because of its unusual construction processes. It involved methods such as steam bending which I am not sure everyone was confident with the concept of. Having worked with this process before I understand that it can be very simple if done correctly and if I could re-present my work I would defiantly want be clearer about that.

bottom of page