top of page

1.2.3 Phone call to Travis Perkins

As I had little success with the emails, I decided to call the local Tavis Perkins branch. My part time course mate Richard informed me that Martin was in charge of timber sales at Travis Perkins so I called and asked for him. He told me he was no longer in charge of the department but would happily forward my request to someone who could potentially grant me sponsorship. He passed on his personal email address and I sent him the details of our project, including our product description, elavations and construction drawings.

Hello Martin,

I said on the phone that I would send you some plans so that you could put me in contact with someone who could potentially grant us some sponsorship. The attachments show our final design elevations and our construction drawings. I also have a description of the pavilion by the lead designer.

Lead designer:

This is a temporary pavilion celebrating The University of Northampton’s upcoming move to the new Waterside Campus expected in 2018. The design is a flowing cylindrical shape formed from 25 vertical slats of OSB3 sandwiched with acoustic foam and a transparent plastic frontage to provide shelter and a calm atmosphere. The pavilion measures approximately 2.5m3 and also houses an information board for the new campus and the sponsor.

I hope you like our designs and if you have any questions please contact me.

Thank you for your help,

Kind regards,

Darren Lansdall

Architectural Technology Student

University of Northampton

bottom of page